6 Replies Latest reply: Jul 8, 2011 7:51 PM by Juliano RSS

RAID Compatibility Question on Intel Motherboards

JamesS Community Member
Currently Being Moderated

Greetings everyone,

I've looked all over Intel for an answer to my questions, but haven't found any. Any help is appreciated.

Two years ago, I built the following system for software development:
Motherboard: D975XBX2 with the 975X chipset
RAID 1 across two SATA hard drives, using the Intel Matrix Storage Manager on the built-in Intel 82801GH I/O Controller Hub (ICH7DH). The Marvell was never setup or used because of issues with it back then.

This was the first time doing a RAID and I read a lot before doing it to educate myself, but I'm not an expert and am not sure what to do if something goes wrong. Everything has been running perfectly and I've been keeping up to date on all Vista, BIOS, and Intel Matrix software updates.

Concern: Since this is my main rig, I've been concerned about what I would do if the motherboard ever failed. From what little info I can find on Intel, I would have to replace the motherboard with a new one that supported the same Controller Hub. In other words, Intel says that whatever controller was used to create the RAID would have to be used again or it won't work and I can't access my RAID 1.

Question: Is the above true? Would I literally have to replace the motherboard with a twin, in order get access to my RAID 1 and be back in business? Or would a newer board, like the Intel DP45SG, with a newer chipset and controller hub, be backwards compatible and work fine?

My likely scenario: Motherboard fails or I want to upgrade the motherboard and processor. I know I would have to set the BIOS to a RAID configuration, but that's as far as I know. I would like to have a simple setup, where I can literally replace the motherboard, hook everything back up, make some BIOS configuration settings, and I'm back in business.