4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2013 5:45 PM by M98Ranger

SMBus Controller driver install takes a long time

dlamb

This is my first time using the Intel Chipset Device Software.  I have a Mobile 945 series chipset, on a Windows XP Professional SP3 system -- a Dell Latitude D620.  I had a yellow question mark on the SMBus Controller in Device Manager, so following the directions on the Intel site I downloaded the software updater.

Everything went well until it got to the actual SMBus Controller installation (there were SATA, USB, & PCIE drivers installed).  I get the following last two lines:

Installing Driver: Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family SMBus Controller - 27DA

Version: 9.1.1.1016

and then a progress meter that gets all the way to the end of the box, maybe 100 small black dots, before it starts over again.  The progress bar has restarted many times--at least 10 times by now.  Is it supposed to take this long, or is that a sign of trouble?  There's no obvious way to cancel the process.

Thanks!

Derek

• 1. Re: SMBus Controller driver install takes a long time
          Diego_Intel

There is not an estimated time on how long this would install, this may depend in the system being used, other applications running in the back ground.and antivirus or execution protection software running in the system.

• 2. Re: SMBus Controller driver install takes a long time
            dlamb

Well, all the other drivers installed just fine.  It ran overnight doing the same thing--it's now been going nearly 12 hours.  In Device Manager there is no SMBus Controller in the "Other Devices" section with a yellow question mark & exclamation point anymore, but there is a line for "SMBus Controller - 27DA" in the System Devices section.  So that is good.

Any idea on what would be installed next if it were to somehow finish this step?  Is there any harm in rebooting the system at this point before the installation has finished?

• 3. Re: SMBus Controller driver install takes a long time