7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2013 7:53 AM by Ron Green

DZ77RE-75K - Problems with shutdown

Ron Green

I have been running the following system for about three months now.  Over that time I have had a fairly consistent problem were after exiting out of Windows 8 and all way down to where the lights on the Monitors are flashing the system keeps running and does not fully shut down until I force it by holding in the power button for about 10 seconds. After then I turned back on the system and go back into Windows I do not get any error messages.  I'm hoping that somebody can give me some insight into what might be the source of this anomaly and possibly how to troubleshoot and correct it? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

System Specs:

Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 8 MB Cache LGA 1155

Intel Desktop Motherboard LGA1155 DDR3 1600 ATX

Corsair Vengeance  16GB (2x8GB)  DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory (CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10

Themaltake Smart M850W Power Supply

Intel Solid State Drive 180GB 520 Series

Barracuda 2 TB 7200 Internal Hard Drive

EVGA GeForce GT 640 2048MB GDDR3 Dual DVI, mHDMI Graphics Cards 02G-P4-2643-KR

Antec Sonata IV - ATX Mid Tower Case

LG GH24 Internal CD Super Multi DVD Rewriter

• 1. Re: DZ77RE-75K - Problems with shutdown
          Victor_Intel

Hello Ron.

The issue that you are experiencing could be related to any device connected to the motherboard. Currently I don't haven't noticed any issues like the one you are reporting. At this time I suggest you to test with the system as basic as you can, remove extra hard drives, optical drives, only leave one stick of memory and if possible test with different power supply and video card. Make sure that you are using the latest BIOS.

Regards.

• 2. Re: DZ77RE-75K - Problems with shutdown
            rbmorse

If you are running Windows 7/8 try disabling hibernation by opening an administrator level command window and typing:

powercfg /H off<enter>