8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2013 3:49 AM by Axel

DH77KC: Bricked after BIOS Update

Hello,

I have a DH77KC Board, BIOS Version 069, with a i5-3770 CPU. From a Windows 8 64 Bit I did a windowsbased Bios Update to version 106. After requested reboot, the system did not start anymore.

When I power on the system the cpu fan turns a little , then stops, then starts again and so on. The MB-LED is on.

The Board will not even recognize the RAM anymore. When I remove the RAM Modules, there are no three beeps or such. The system behaves the same with or without RAM.

I am a professional IT Supporter actually, and of course I tried everything I find on intel.com and what people recommend in these communities.

- Taking the battery out for hours with no power attached to the bard

- trying the recovery mode with a bio file on a usb stick with the jumper removed

No success, but no wonder, when the system system cant even access the RAM, I think.

I wonder if the board can be completely wrecked.

I noticed of course all the others in this communities with similar problems.

Actually I purchased an Intel board to avoid problems like this.

Any recommendations?

thanks a lot.

• 1. Re: DH77KC: Bricked after BIOS Update
          Chip

As your's is a 7 series board, it may have something to do with what I also experienced.  I also had a Windows based express BIOS update fail.  The recovery showed proper completion but the system refused to boot.  See if the steps I used work for you:

Re: DZ77GAL-70K freezes after a successful BIOS recovery

Pay attention to the POST codes (if your board has the display) & read the technical manual/guide to see if it prompts for any other trouble shooting steps.

• 2. Re: DH77KC: Bricked after BIOS Update

well, the DH77KC board does not have a display for POST codes or a Back to BIOS Button, so I guess I can't go this way.

chip, your answer is much appreciated anyway, thanks.