4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 27, 2012 10:10 AM by Mihael Customer

DX79SR low RAM performance

Mihael Customer

Hi everyone.

I'm new to Intel support forum, since I didn't have any issues with Intel boards until this one (or which I couldn't sove by my own knowledge).

I have DX79SR board, 3930K, 16GB kingston 2133 RAM (4x4) and GTX570 (and A bunch of SSD's - no HDD). I use PC for video editing and vas majority of time I render video using NEAT video (very CPU intensive filter for noise reduction which can use CUDA processing too). I upgraded my sistem from Z68/2600K and LOST PERFORMANCE! I'm soo sad.

My issue is slow RAM performace, or Quad vs Dual = the same. It is no difference if put 2 ram inside or 3, or 4, regarding throughput. I do measure performance on 3 different ways: SiSandra2012, AIDA64 and real life rendering speed in one of my application. Please read my background, to understand why I think something is wrong.

BACKGROUND:

NEAT video is very CPU intensive so I upgraded from Q9550 to 2600K. I put it on Z68 (Asus V-PRO) and 1600 Kingston HyperX ram. I overclocked  my (24/7 OC was 44) system. Since NEAT video can take advantage of CUDA processing I bought GTX460. It helped just little. few % more using CPU+GPU. I bought 550ti, it was better, but not much. I bought GTX570, it was even less improvement. Funny is that CPU rendered at 9 fps, GPU at 8 fps. But together it was 11 fps maybe. Than I overclocked GPU, and little change was seen (3-5% at 30% GPU overclock). I blamed software.

Than I overclocked RAM to 1866. Boy that was improvement in rendering speed! So I bought 2133 HyperX I have now. Again 15% improvement on rendering speed. Not only CPU and GPU alone performed better, but aggregate performance was much better too. Filter now started to use HyperThreading "virtual cores" too, not only real ones. I saw that GTX570 was not reached its limits yet. So SB-E with 4 channel RAM would rock (I thought).