Intel vPro® Platform
Intel Manageability Forum for Intel® EMA, AMT, SCS & Manageability Commander
2827 Discussions

SMB Mode to Enterprise Mode on Intel AMT v5.0

idata
Employee

Greetings,

I'm a vPro novice and am seeking some guidence.

ENVIRONMENT:

HP Compaq DC7900 Small Form Factor

Windows XP Professional SP3

Intel AMT Firmware Version 5.0.1.1111

BACKGROUND:

We are currently deploying 5000+ HP DC7900 computers and are manually provisioning them in SMB mode going out the door.

We have changed the host name, the domain name, and set a password.

I decided to use SMB mode because my impression regarding Enterprise mode is numerious XYZ needed to be configured.

As only 700 of these machines have been deployed so far I'm getting worried when I read that SMB Mode cannot be remotely reprovissioned.

QUESTIONS:

Enterprise Mode Setup - The machines are comming from HP set at Factory mode in Enterprise Mode.

What is the minimum I can do to use Enterprise mode for the new systems going into our command.

I understand there is "Factory" "Setup" and "Provisioned" modes

Can these just be manually configured without a provisioning server initially?

If there is no provisioning server IP specified in the setup on each machine is there going to be a lot of broadcast traffic?

As passwords would be set manually, if it connects to provisioning server "which would be another site on our domain" it would not be accessable, and/or provisionable?

SWITCHING THE SMB Machines to Enterprise Mode:

How can I do this remotely? Can I do it with the WEB GUI...do I need 3rd party software, do I have to manually visit all machines?

Additionally, we are using SMS 2003 though using this with AMT right now has not been discussed. What this means is if I had to setup a provisioning server it would not be the SMS 2003 server, and if I did that could I switch the provisioning server to the SMS server in the future.

Much appreciation for any help in advance.

Best Regards,

0 Kudos