6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2012 11:51 AM by btw12

Is my DH67BL defective?

btw12

Hello!

You may have to bear with me--first post, and I am no expert... Apologies in advance for unintended dumbness.

I have built several PCs successfully, and been generally pleased. I built the last in January with a DH67BL motherboard and Intel I5 2500K cpu. Worked just fine until ~1 month ago when full crashes (blue screen variety) began to occur frequently. Tried to troubleshoot--did not seem to be one piece of software, HDD checked out OK. Eventually gave up, backed up files, and did a clean reinstall of OS (Win7Pro). That seemed to go fine. But, no drivers for ethernet or USB controllers. Tried to install those from CD that came with motherboard; express install just hung. Tried to download and run installer from Intel website--downloaded but crashed on execution. When I tried to restart, would not start: "file corrupted."

I am pretty much at a loss. Are these indications that the motherboard has gone defective? Any way to fix something or to confirm that diagnosis?

Many thanks for any guidance!

BT

Message was edited by: BT46 Oct 22: I marked Brad's second message as correct, and was then apparently unable to add another post. so, this addendum is just to document that the problem was, indeed, the memory. Swapped in some good DIMMs, and all seems well. Many thanks to all who posted! Very helpful

• 1. Re: Is my DH67BL defective?
          Brad

Since you are posting from another system, see if you can download and burn to an optical disc Memtest86:

http://www.memtest.org/

download the latest bootable ISO, burn that to a blank CD or DVD, boot from that on the DH67BL system, and run the full test. It should do everything automatically, let it run the full test, which is 8 or 9 different tests. See what happens and report back.

• 2. Re: Is my DH67BL defective?
            btw12

Thanks very much for getting back to me.