3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2012 11:57 AM by Joseph Oster

VPRO Newbie Must Be Missing Something in SOL

We just installed 30 PCs built to order with Intel DQ67SW motherboards and I3-2100T CPUs.

I am new to configuring Vpro.  After reading the install guides, I installed Intel Setup and Configuration Console.  I configured a profile and exported the XML file.  I created a start up script to run the necessary configurations.  All the PCs are now showing "Configured" in Intel Management and Security Status.  Also, I can connect to them using Intel System Defense Utility. 

The one thing I cannot do (which is the most important), is Serial Over LAN.  I receive this error every time I start the Manageability Terminal from inside ISDU.

http://i.imgur.com/jN3P6.png

I tripled checked my settings and I am allowing SOL and Remote KVM.  Can any experts out there point me in the right direction?

• 1. Re: VPRO Newbie Must Be Missing Something in SOL

SOL can be disabled at several points:

1. BIOS build disallows feature entirely.

2. BIOS build allows feature but defaults it to disabled.

3. Provisioning profile disables the feature.

I think you may have hit #2. To look at this, restart a client and access MEBX. Within the MEBX menus you can see if SOL is enabled.  If SOL is disabled in this menu, it over-rides if SOL is enabled in the provisioning profile.

To investigate other causes, please tell us:

1. If you are using TLS or non-TLS mode.

2. What software you are using to attempt the SOL session.

• 2. Re: VPRO Newbie Must Be Missing Something in SOL
            Joseph Oster

Basically the issue is the port isn’t open by default when using SCS for provisioning. Depending on the tool used for manageability, the tool will either expect it to be in a specific enabled/disabled configuration or will open and close the port at need, this port is not controlled by the configuration xml.