1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 7, 2009 8:58 AM by Javed Lodhi

Confused about the choice. Please help! (Xeon @2.3GH v/s Quad @3.0GHz)

Hey Guys,

I am an Enterprise Support Professional with Microsoft, looking for a machine to setup a Hyper-V Lab at my home with 1 2008 Host OS and 5 Virtual Servers.

I am bounded by product availablity limitations and price constraints.Hence I am confused between the speed of Xeon and Quad Core machines I am getting here.

My budget for the CPU+Processor is INR 28 to 30 thousands.

Here are the details:

Q9650: 18000 (3  GHz)

E5405: INR 11,000 (2.0 GHz)
      E5410:  INR 15,000 (2.3 GHz)
      E5420: INR 18,000 (2.5 Ghz)

Now, the catch is the  price of the boards and the RAM Speed they support:

Mother Boards:

For Q9650: DQ45CB: INR 8,000  (Supports Max 8 GB RAM @ 800 MHz)

For Xeon:
      SR 5000VSA 4DIMM: INR  15,000 (Max 8 GB RAM @ 677 Mhz)

SR 5000VSA 8DIMM: INR 19,000 (Max 16  GB RAM @ 677 Mhz)

Now here is the confusion:

If I buy Q9650, it is a 3 GHz processor with 800 MHz RAM costing INR 26,000

Comparing to E5410+SR 5000VSA 4DIMM, it's a 2.3 GHz processor with 677 Mhz RAM costing INR 30,000

Hence, I have two combinations of CPU with difference in priceing and speeds. I am confused whether Xeon would deliver better performance even with decreased RAM and Clock speed than Q9650 or would Q9650 be a better option?

1. Quad or Xeon?
      2. If Xeaon, which board and processor combination would be best?

Thanks for your time!

With Regards,

Amit Saxena

• 1. Re: Confused about the choice. Please help! (Xeon @2.3GH v/s Quad @3.0GHz)
          Javed Lodhi

Hi Amit,