6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2012 7:16 PM by thebeav

High Thermal state in BIOS DG41WV

thebeav

I am an experienced builder and have built over 300 systems this year alone. I have not used Intel boards until recently as I was in my local Ma & Pa computer store and they had a DG41WV on special. I bought it on impulse because I wanted to build my brother a web surfing machine, he is still running a build I did for him back in 2003. The price was right and I have a plethora of Legacy products just sitting around.

I am using an Intel E7500 CPU, with 4GB of Crucial DDR3 1333. I always bench test it prior to putting in the case. I make sure it posts into the BIOS, and I check the set-up (cmos) and thermal states. I noticed that the hardware monitor in the BIOS was showing a 63 to 69 degree Celsius. I figured one of the pins was not in place. They were all locked on the back of the board fine. So my next thought was, I applied to much thermal compound which I have never done before (AS5). So I cleaned it off and reapplied. Reinstalled the Intel heat/ sink fan. Still the same... 63 to 69 up and down. Then I changed the fan to 100% and it did not make a noticeable difference, expect being loud. O.K. now I am getting annoyed. I updated the BIOS to the latest, I believe the date was 5/2012. It got a little better, now it is 53 to 63. I do not like this. There is a message at the bottom of the hardware monitoring page that a setting is incorrect and the system may malfunction... This was present before and after the BIOS update. Loaded the BIOS at defaults, no change.The CPU and heat/ sink show 29 to 35 on my test motherboard which is a different manufacturer and DDR2. It has been my experience that a shutdown will occur when it is under load, probably would not even get through an installation of Windows or Linux.