3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2012 11:01 AM by Greeno

First time PC builder : Intel Desktop Board DZ77GA-70K Queries !!

intbaba

Hi friends since I am a first time PC builder I have a few queries :

Motherboard : Intel Desktop Board DZ77GA-70K

SSD : Intel 520 series 180 GB

1. Is it possible to update the firmware of the mobo without installing OS + Processor +Ram via usb flash drive or can i just install the processor and ram and then update the bios? [Basically I am trying not to attach/install anything to the mobo before updating the firmware]
      2. What is high current USB 2.0 exactly? Can I charge my mp3 player/PS3 Controller etc with it? Is the high current USB 2.0 used to charge usb devices even when the PC is off? On my case front there are 2 USb 2.0 ports, should I connect them to normal USB 2.0 or high current?
      3. Since I am gonna install a graphics card as well shall i connect my monitor to my graphics card or the mobo HDMI?
      4. The Intel SSD connects to which 6gb/s port blue or grey and sata 0 or sata 1 ? Also is there any official Intel SSD tweaking guide for win 7 as there is so much different stuff on the net its very confusing.
      5. Finally are there any drivers or utilities I need to install before I do anything on a fresh Win 7 Install?

Thanks

• 1. Re: First time PC builder : Intel Desktop Board DZ77GA-70K Queries !!
          Greeno

Afternoon mate.

1. Yes, download the .BIO from Intel's download center --> http://downloadmirror.intel.com/21571/eng/GA0049.BIO and boot your system. Press "F7" as the system is booting for the BIOS update program/utility. With the .BIO file on a USB stick (preferably formatted as FAT32) you can press Enter on the .BIO file and it will update it for you.

2. Yes, the Hi-Current USB is for exactly that.. it charges devices essentially... I'll see if I can get a better description for you though.