7 Replies Latest reply: Sep 5, 2012 5:50 AM by JanArneSobania RSS

Cross-Compiler Update

Edward Community Member
Currently Being Moderated

Hi,

Are there any plans to update the cross compilers in the repository to newer versions, namely gcc to 4.0+? There are various compilation issues I'm experiencing that are supposed to be fixed in the newer versions.

Thanks,

Edward

• 1. Re: Cross-Compiler Update
    Hayder Community Member

Hi Edward,

You have two options to use new version of gcc on SCC:

1) You should be able to build a custom linux that has new version of gcc, or using sccKit 1.4.2.2 which uses buildroot 2011.11 and comes with kernel 3.1.4 that its default cross-gcc seems to be gcc-4.4.6.

2) You could generate a new version of gcc by using crosstool-ng.

Hopefully, this reply help you.

• 2. Re: Cross-Compiler Update
    Edward Community Member

Hi Hayder,

I am new to cross-compilation. Can you (or anyone else) give me a few starters as how to generate a new gcc for the SCC via crosstool-ng?

Thanks a lot,

Edward

• 3. Re: Cross-Compiler Update
    Hayder Community Member

Hi Edward,

First of all, you need to install Crosstool-ng, and you could download from this website:

http://crosstool-ng.org/.

You could tracking those instructions which found in this tutorials to understand how to build cross-compiler:

http://www.aclevername.com/articles/linux-xilinx-tutorial/crosstool-ng-1.3.2.html

http://getglitched.com/?page_id=253

Other way, I attached the configuration file (I got it from Isaías and modified it) for crosstool-ng 1.11.3, that will build a 4.4.6 toolchain with C/C++ and fortran. It works and you could just download it and copy the contents of file and place it in the .config file under your crosstool-ng working directory and instruct crosstool-ng to build the compiler by using ./ct-ng build.

BTY, the .config file is already existing in crosstool directory, just you need modified it.

Do not hesitate to ask more questions.

Regards!