3 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2012 2:31 PM by Diego_Intel

HD4000 / i7-3770 major problems - help!

tejus

I upgraded my system over the weekend (spec below) and unfortunately I'm having in incredibly frustrating experience.  Me - I've been doing Windows kernel development for 14 years, pretty technical.

I'm having two major problems - to summarize:

1.  Installing the intel graphics drivers (15.26.8.64.2696 dated 3/23/12) causes very long logon times (minutes) and logon failures, sometime with popups about timeouts.  Uninstalling the drivers from safe mode immediately resolves the problem.  It basically sits at the "please wait" with the spinning blue circle for a long time, then eventually something times out and it moves on, which may or may not result in a popup or failed logon (e.g blank desktop colored screen).

2.  I cannot get the system to function properly with an NVidia GTS450 card in the PCIe slot.  It ends up as code 43 after installing the intel drivers.  The long story on this one is below the system spec below.  This card was working fine for > 1 year in my previous motherboard.  Realize this could be any one of NVidia / Intel / Gigabyte problem, but I'm stumped at this point.

Help ?!

Thanks,

Tom

System spec  (GTS450, PSU and Drives carried from previous system, everything else is new).

• i7 3770 CPU
      • Gigabyte Z77-D3H mainboard
        • Intel Z77 chipset
        • UEFI BIOS (latest version flashed) but OS(s) installed as non-EFI (BIOS supports compat).
        • Virtualization support disabled in BIOS
        • Optimized defaults, no O/C going on here.
      • Zotac NVidia GTS 450 1GB  (ZT-40503-10L)
        • Latest driver from NVIDIA website (296.10, and also tried BETA 301.24)
      • 16GB DDR3 1600 (4x4)
      • 485W Enermax PSU
      • Windows 7 x64 SP1 (carried from previous configuration)
      • Also have a parallel clean install of Windows 7 x64 SP1, having the same issues.
      • Latest drivers for everything etc.