8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2012 12:03 AM by boseo

i5 2500 DH67CL new build - idle CPU 76C normal ?

boseo

installed a new i5 2500 with stock cooler into DH67CL today (no add on cards only RAM, HDD and on board graphics used, intended test server). Started up into BIOS (no OS yet):  idle CPU immediately goes from 51C and stabilizes at 76-77C.  tried reapplying thermal paste and reseating heat sink/fan ensuring all 4 pins visible/click on back of board, with no improvement.  all bios settings at default. room temperature 25-27C.  2x 120mm fans IN and 1x cpu fan.   CPU fan quiet "normal", i gather it does not kick in full until default threshold (88C?)

i am new to intel board, is this temperature "normal" or do i need to change BIOS fan settings to bring the idle CPU temperature down to 30-40C range (like what I hear on forums where idle CPU should be)? 

BIOS shows:

Processor 76C

PCH  56C

Memory 40C

VR 49C

CPU Fan 1622 RPM

Front 659 RPM  (120mm top of case extraction)

Rear 620 RPM  (120 mm case side, extraction in line with CPU fan)

before i assume faulty board or CPU am I missing some configuration perhaps ?  have searched through forum a few times but if this is posted previously can you pls point me in right direction ? 

has anyone experienced this as well ?  thanks for reading and assistance in adv

• 1. Re: i5 2500 DH67CL new build - idle CPU 76C normal ?
          pwertz

I am not an expert on this subject but have read a number of posts similar to yours on this forum and the responses are invariably the same - The temps are higher in the BIOS when not running an O/S than they are when running an O/S. I would suggest installing the O/S and then check temps. Install Intel Desktop Utility or another utility and check temps and fan speeds and compare with your BIOS readings. Regards. Peter

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: i5 2500 DH67CL new build - idle CPU 76C normal ?
            tama