1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2013 12:42 AM by alwintom

DG35EC + Q9550 Problem with CPU Fan and Temperature

alwintom

Hi,

I have been using a DG35EC+Q9550 for over 3 years. From the first day itself, I noticed that the CPU is running aa bit hot. But I contacted intel suport and they said if no alarms are triggered, it is going to be OK. So I have been using the system without worrying.

But recently, while playing some games, the PC auto-poweroff a few times (1 or 2 times a day). At first I thought it was some game bug. But a few weeks ago, I tried to see if thats the case. I used several monitoring programs (HWInfo, SpeedFAN, HWMonitor..) to monitor temperature and fan speeds.

To my great discomfort, I noticed that my cores are running at 65-75C at idle (ie in Windwos desktop w/o additonal apps). When gaming (Assassins Creed Revelations), it reaches 99C and even reaches 100C. Then I looked at the fan speeds, but fan is still running at a mere 1048 RPM even though the temperature was at 80-99C!

So I thought maybe the the HSF(Stock cooler that comes with Q9550) is not in contatc with CPU. So I removed it, cleaned and put it back again with some fresh thermal paste (Coolermastre Thermal Fusion 400). This changed things slightly at idle. Idle temps now dropped to 60-70C. But no change when the CPU is stressed. What worries me most is that the fan is not running at 100%. I tried to see if I can manually set the fan to run at 100%, but found no way.

However, yesterday, HWMonitor reported that fan is running at 2800 RPM (but temp was below 60C) and stayed at that until I shutdown. But after that I turned on the PC but the Fan never exeeded 1400 after that (eventhough CPU temp reached well above 90C)

So I thought may be the temp sensor is wrong. So I removed the Cabin covrer and touched on the HSF Heat Sink and it nearly burned my hand. The Heat Sink was extremely hot. So the sensors must be telling the truth.