5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 23, 2012 10:30 AM by krakke

Intermittent mouse issue on DP67BG

gpitts

I am running a DP67BG motherboard with an Intel Core i7-2600K processor. My system has been rock-solid up until the past several months, but recently I get sporadic dropouts of the mouse... the mouse seems to "die" anywhere from a fraction of a second to a couple of seconds. I had been running a Microsoft wireless mouse/keyboard combo, and assumed it was getting flaky, so I replaced it with a Logitech G510 keyboard and a R.A.T. 7 mouse (both wired). However, the new mouse exhibits precisely the same symptoms as my previous mouse. Clearly this is not an issue with the mouse, so it must be related to the hardware/BIOS I'm running. The BIOS is up to date (ver 2111), and my mouse is plugged into the standard USB 2.0 ports. I am not a newbie by any stretch, but I am really at a loss as to how to resolve this matter. I don't want to replace the motherboard, but I'm running out of ideas. HELP!!!!

• 1. Re: Intermittent mouse issue on DP67BG
          Victor_Intel

Hello gpitts,

I understand that your mouse freezes or stops responding and you believe that this may be related to a BIOS bug.

In regards to the problem that you are experiencing, we have not received any reports of issues similar to yours or problems with the USB ports 2.0.

How did you determined that the problem is indeed related to the mouse as I believe that this may be the whole system freezing. Have you tried testing the motherboard out of the chassis to check for shorts or grounding?

Have you rolled out the operating system being the cause of the issue?

Please check if your RAM memory is 1333MHz at 1.5v, you may be having background problems that are giving you these freezes.

Regards.

PV

• 2. Re: Intermittent mouse issue on DP67BG
            gpitts