3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2011 10:01 AM by Albrecht

HD Driver Issues

emuuse

Sorry this is so long, please bear with me.

Unfortunately, I've spent way longer than I had hoped to in attempts to find any sort of solution to my driver problems. I've always had difficulties with drivers on my laptop, and I've been able to ignore them or work around them until now. The major problems started when I started playing a graphics-intensive game. I played it on all the lowest settings, and it worked fairly well for a while. But then it started to bottom out. The screen would flash several times before just crashing my entire system to the BSoD. I worked around that by playing in windowed mode. And that helped. For a while. At least well enough that I could sometimes bring the game back with some serious keysmashing (hey, whatever works) and also so I could see the error message "Display driver Intel Graphics Accelerator Drivers for Windows XP(R) stopped responding and has successfully recovered." Which I found exceedingly odd as my laptop came new with Win7. Regardless, I could still play relatively easily.

Unfortunately, the crashes became more and more frequent until I barely got in a few seconds before one, so I decided I would try and update my drivers.

Which didn't work as easily as I had hoped. Going through Device Manager told me that my driver was up to date, even though when I cheched the Acer site, there were more recent drivers. So I downloaded the most recent one (.2202) and tried to just use the setup.exe in it, but that gave the message "An error occured while registering one or more components." The older one (2119) gives the same message.