12 Replies Latest reply: Dec 22, 2012 2:52 AM by fashion_m RSS

Which versions of the 320 Series SSDs are reliable now?

altitune Community Member
Currently Being Moderated

I have been using a OCZ Vertex 2 for my OS for 10 months, and now it has crashed. On internet I now have seen that these disks have a firmware issue that makes many of them crash, ant that many people recommend Intel SSDs as replacement.

OTH, the Intel 320s have had the "Bad Context 13x Error" and by reading these posts that error seem not to be totally solved yet. So, some questions:

- If buying a 320 today, can it still have the faulty firmware?

- What firmware should it have?

- Is the new, "faultproof" firmware really faultproof?

- Can I check the reliability of the 320 before I install the OS?

• 1. Re: Which versions of the 320 Series SSDs are reliable now?
    L10090 Community Member

1. With buying a new Intel 320 SSD today, I guess it is still very likely to get it with an "old" firmware version installed.

2. Dowload and install the latest Intel SSD Toolbox 3.0. It contains the latest 320 SSD firmware. See: http://www.intel.com/go/ssdtoolbox/.

3. With the use of Toolbox 3.0, first apply the latest firmware (4PC10362) before doing anything else with your new SSD drive.

4. As you can read on this forum, after the installation of the new firmware you still have no garantee that you 320 SDD will operate "bug free"

5. Unfortunately Intel is ignoring any request for comment and/or a reliablity status update, after the Sept-1st release of the latest firmware.

6. I do not know of any existing reliability test for a new Intel 320 series SSD.

• 2. Re: Which versions of the 320 Series SSDs are reliable now?

Thanks for the helpful but somewhat discouraging answer.

One more question:

What can I do do minimize the risk of a future crash?