4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2012 6:21 PM by MrKnobs

Q: Better Drivers for D101GGC M$ or Intel?

pinkp8ther

I've had to recently reload my Windows XP Home system(yes I'm still in the stone age, but the system still does what I need it to do).  However, I'm wondering which are the better drivers for the D101GGC Mother Board and on-board components, Microsoft's or Intel's?

The only gaming I really do is World of Warcraft(No this is not the best machine for that, but it works well enough for me).

TIA,

Larry

• 1. Re: Q: Better Drivers for D101GGC M$ or Intel?
          Flying_Kiwi

As I don't own that setup I can't comment with direct experience but as far as PCs go generally, the answer is 'whatever works best with your particular setup and which best suits your needs'. I realise that won't be much help to you but in my experience with other boards and as a former computer technician, I usually choose the manufacturer provided drivers unless there are problems because they often have additional features or functions whereas the OS provided ones tend to be plain, no-frills afairs. The Microsoft ones can be handy though in the event of problems with manufacturer supplied drivers  - eg all of Intels website provided Audio Drivers for the DG45ID (and the DP45SG and DG45FC) have issues with systems setup using the optical audio output whereas the Microsoft drivers work OK with this (at least on my DG45ID).

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Q: Better Drivers for D101GGC M$ or Intel?
            pinkp8ther

Flying_Kiwi wrote:

<snip>

'whatever works best with your particular setup and which best suits your needs'

<snip>

I appreciate the quick reply.

This has been my experience as well.  I was hoping for a list of gotchas from users.