7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2011 9:21 AM by john_s@intel

RAID Controller RS2WC080 + 3TB drives

Spunek

First of all - Hello everybody, I am new to the Intel forums.

I have a question. I think what I want to do is possible but I am not 100% sure. I would like to use RS2WC080 controller to connect 8 x 3TB drives and make a RAID 5 from them. It is stated that all of the Intel controllers based on LSI 2108 (RS2WC080 is based on it) will be able to support HDDs >2TB while LSI 1xxx series will only display first 2TB.

I am I right? Or better - did someone built similiar configuration?

And is it possible to connect 12 drives to that controller using expander cables?

Regards,

Peter

update:

Forgot to mention I would like to use Seagate Barracuda XT 7200rpm 3TB hdds if that matters.

• 1. Re: RAID Controller RS2WC080 + 3TB drives
          john_s@intel

Spunek,

The RS2WC080 supports 3TB HDDs. In fact, you can find 3TB SATA and SAS HDDs on the RS2WC080 Tested Hardware and Operating System List (THOL). We highly recommend using HDDs off the THOL.

Yes you can use 12 drives with the RS2WC080 controller using expanders. See the web article on How many drives, virtual disks and arrays does the controller support? for more information.

You can find quite a bit of infrmation that you might be looking for on the RS2WC080 support page.

Regards,

John

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: RAID Controller RS2WC080 + 3TB drives
            Spunek

Thank you, John

Sorry for so late feedback. This issue was postponed for me for a time, but now I will have to get back to it.

Your answer was really helpful. The last thing that confuses me is that in the accessories list for that controller there is no special expander cable. How should I make a connection for 12 drives? I will have 2 x 4 ports expander calbes shipped with the controller. Which additional expander should I order?

The quick quide manual does not show any option above 8 drives: