3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2011 11:42 PM by deko

Mainboard and Screw Pads

Good morning!

I have a question about installing mainboard in case. Generally we install boards in case using screws (six in ATX boards).

I've heard that it is a good idea to put a pad between a screw and a board to allow the board to "work" [physically] to avoid micro-cracks.

I've also heard that there is an electrical ground connected to places where screws are installed (so screw will connect mainboard with case) so pads shouldn't be installed.

I would like to hear from Intel Experts what is the right choose, because I'm really confused and I don't want to install board incorrectly. The pads I'm thinking about looks like this: http://www.windplus.co.uk/supplies/pad_screw_washer.jpg (generally are red).

Thank you very much!

• 1. Re: Mainboard and Screw Pads

I've been building systems for almost two decades and have never used "pads".  If you're are referring to fiber washers, that's another story.  Those were sometimes used with older boards where a ground fault was a concern.  Newer boards don't need them if you use the right hardware. If you're worried about damage to the board, having the right bumpers in place is the thing to worry about.  Another question is what material your standoffs and screws are made of. I prefer nickel-plated brass for standoffs and screws (from insudtrial screw suppliers, NOT the junk that comes with consumer grade boards), and brass washers between the screw cap and the board. never use serrated screws on a mb.

• 2. Re: Mainboard and Screw Pads

Hi deko, thank you for your answer!

I've used word 'pads' because this is direct translation from my native language - I didn't know about terms like fiber washer or brass washer. I've looked on Google Images and those fiber and brash washers looks same for me:

- fiber washer: CLICK

- brash washer: CLICK

- and same like image I posted in first post: CLICK