9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2012 9:12 AM by tedk

RCCE non-singlebitflags

vmaffione

Hi all,

I've got a question about RCCE implementation in case of SINGLEBITFLAGS=0 and nongory interface.

Reading all the documentation (including the RCCE paper by Wijngaart et al) it seems to me that the implementaion is reserving a whole cache line (32 bytes) for each synchronization flag ("sent" and "ready" arrays). So 32 bytes for each flag. If we run an application using 48 cores, we will need  48*2=96 flag per core (all these flag are allocated in the MPB of each exactly with the same offsets) ==> 96*32 bytes = 3072 bytes = 35% of Kb (all these data are reported in various documents).

Nevertheless, I studied the RCCE code and I'm pretty sure that the routine RCCE_flag_alloc reserves actually 1 byte per flag (and not 32 bytes per flag).

To be sure of that, I simply printed the address (which is a core virtual address of a MPB location) of each flag in the arrays "sent" and "ready"

for ( ue=0; ue<RCCE_NP; ue++)

printf( "%p\n", RCCE_flag_sent[ue].flag_addr );

for ( ue=0; ue<RCCE_NP; ue++)

printf( "%p\n", RCCE_flag_ready[ue].flag_addr );

and I find out that only one byte is allocated for each flag (consider that both translation of a virtual address to a phisical address and translation of a phisical address to a system address by LUT don't change the least significant bits of the addresses, so I can do my considerations with virtual address..).

So, did I make an interpretation mistake reading the documentation? If one byte is allocated for each flag, considering that RCCE_flag_write must be atomic, why don't we have to use locks when writing to a flag (even if SINGLEBITFLAGS=0)?

Thanks,

Vincenzo

• 1. Re: RCCE non-singlebitflags
          tgmattso