2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2011 10:26 PM by Fordum

Disk Size Limit For RAID BIOS, or Am I Just An Idiot?

Fordum

Folks, running on too little sleep, trying to wrap my head around a problem.

I'm an electronics engineer, pretty fair with computers. Manage to keep all mine and the ones in my office running well.

Friend of mine asked me to help him with his Dell. He had managed to completely fill C: drive down to 120M! From 160G.

He had gone online to Dell, and they had sold him a 1T drive.

I went over and started checking.

Turns out he has a RAID 1 system in his machine.

Its using, I think, the intel matrix storage manager version ICH7R.

The BIOS level is:Opton Rom v 5.0.0.1032  ICH7R.

There are 2 spare SATA ports on the board. My first idea, was to connect the two new drives to those two ports, go into the RAID console, and create a new RAID 1 with them.

Then, make an image of the drive he has now, and transfer it to the new drives and replace the original ones with the new ones.

My image software, will adjust the partition sizes accordingly.

At the present time, there are 4 partitions on the drive. A small FAT, an NTFS driveC, an NTFS driveD, and a small FAT32.

Then, I discovered that there was not any spare  power cables for the two SATA drives.

So, I went with plan B.

I removed one of the drives after powering down the machine, and installed one of the 1TB ones. The machine told me I had a problem, and I told it to rebuild the mirror.

I left it at the login screen so Windows would not be bothering it, and it rebuilt it in about an hour.

I checked, and everything was functional.

The RAID console said I had a normal 149G mirror and one drive had about 950G free.

So, I swapped in the other drive and let it rebuild the mirror again.

At this point the BIOS of the machine recognized a 1TB drive being controlled by the RAID controller.

The RAID console saw a normal 149G mirror, with two drives having about 950G free.