10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2011 2:13 PM by parsec

Intel 3 year warranty is a fairytale

gabemattos

My 3 years warranty was denied whit no reason. I don't have to be a Professor of Electrical Engineering or a forensic expert to know that the reason why the motherboard burn out was  low life components.Afected Area.jpg

You can see in the affected area of the motherboard a lot of dead burned resistors. When theresistance equals zero any motherboard will have a short circuit and burn out as result. If Intel does not cover short life components what they cover? Intel 3 year warranty must to be a fairytale (scam).

My computer was behind an Outlet UPS that Guards against surges, spikes, sags, and brownouts and I have a really good Coolemaster case with one frontal fan, one in the left side, one in the back, plus the power supply fan. The burned resistors wasn't result of hot environment or any issue with the electricity. Intel RMA It's a nightmare.

• 1. Re: Intel 3 year warranty is a fairytale
          Doc_SilverCreek

It is too bad your photo did not get attached. I would have like to seen your board.

Component burn out is not normally related to "low life" components.

It is usually EOS (electrical over stress) which is normally caused (as you implied) by power spikes, voltage, temperature or a short circuit caused by loose pieces , screws, screw drivers, etc.

What type board did you lose and what is the serial number?

• 2. Re: Intel 3 year warranty is a fairytale
            gabemattos

Intel RMA Board.jpg

Do you want another angle?

""Burned out resistors are often caused by the failure of some other component in a circuit causing an excess of current."  (google for it)

Intel RMA board UPS.jpg

My computer was behind an Outlet UPS that Guards against surges, spikes, sags, and brownouts.