1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2011 1:16 PM by fgaullier

DX58SO2 memory speed issue

fgaullier

I just set up a DX58SO2 mother board with a i7 960. I spent quite a bit of money on the RAM buying Kingston HyperX memory (KHX2000C9AD3T1K3/6GX) wich should run around 2000MHz. In the Intel desktop Utility they show up at 1067MHz !! not even 1333 MHz that I had with standard RAM!

Here is a snapshot of the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility:

IETU snapshot.GIF

I am not looking at overclocking like crasy, but I would like to have my expensive memory run at the right speed.

I must admit that I am not an expert with all these hardware parameters, am I missing something? what do I need to tweak to have the memory run at a higher speed? while the system reliable.

I have an other issue with the board, regarding the Marvel RAID on the blue SATA port running at 6GB, but I'll use an other message for that.

thanks for any help.

Francois,

• 1. Re: DX58SO2 memory speed issue
          Gusfmm

Francois,

We both posted at the same time, I'm having that exact same issue with Patriot PX7312G2000ELK triple channel memory. I did try the Intel XMP profile in BIOS, but it did not go well. So I'm back to running at the 1Mhz mark, as you described...

Try going into the BIOS and picking the auto XMP profile to see if you have better luck than I.

• 2. Re: DX58SO2 memory speed issue
            fgaullier

Gusfmm,

It's good to know that you are not the only one, but that does not solve the issue. I might contact Intel support, and will post anything I get from them.

Francois.

• 3. Re: DX58SO2 memory speed issue
              Gusfmm

Did you try going back into the BIOS and selecting the default XMP profile?

• 4. Re: DX58SO2 memory speed issue
                levicki

You need to change memory and uncore multiplier to be able to run memory at any speed above 1066MHz. You can Google for "overclocking howto" and I am sure you will find a plenty of articles.