4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2011 2:52 PM by Hayder

Communication model

Hayder
      Hello,
      I am new in the SCC, and I have questions about communication between the cores.
      1. Can a core execute more than one send and receive operations (message) simultaneously?
      2. Can a core identify the signal from another sender, while it receiving data from an original sender? if yes How?
      Thanks
      Hayder Al-Khalissi
      TU-Braunschweig
        • 1. Re: Communication model
          tedk

What I see people doing is running a SPMD model ... the same program running on the cores. RCCE_send() is a blocking call, so you issue one at a time. RCCE_recv() is also a blocking call. It returns when the message arrives. You can use RCCE_recv_test() instead of RCCE_recv(). RCCE_recv_test() returns right away. It has an additional parameter that becomes 1 when the message arrives.

I'm not sure what you mean by while receiving. I see people running one process on a core. You specify the core from which you want to receive in the recv call.

Here's the output form a very simple test program. I attached the program.

tekubasx@marc101:/shared/tekubasx/NCM$ rccerun -nue 3 -f rc.hosts hello
          pssh -h PSSH_HOST_FILE.2447 -t -1 -p 3 /shared/tekubasx/NCM/mpb.2447 < /dev/null
          [1] 16:45:15 [SUCCESS] rck00
          [2] 16:45:15 [SUCCESS] rck01
          [3] 16:45:15 [SUCCESS] rck02
          pssh -h PSSH_HOST_FILE.2447 -t -1 -P -p 3 /shared/tekubasx/NCM/hello 3 0.533 00 01 02 < /dev/null
          rck00: Core 0: hello from RCCE ... I am 1.0.13.x
          rck01: Core 1: hello from RCCE ... I am 1.0.13.x
          Core 1: Hello from Core 0

Core 1: Hello from Core 2

rck02: Core 2: hello from RCCE ... I am 1.0.13.x
          [1] 16:46:17 [SUCCESS] rck00
          [2] 16:46:17 [SUCCESS] rck01
          [3] 16:46:17 [SUCCESS] rck02
          tekubasx@marc101:/shared/tekubasx/NCM$

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Communication model