5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2011 3:29 PM by mechbob

Intel DP67BG - New Build Problems - Help!

wasabipeas

Ok today I received my long awaited motherboard, a DP67BG, to use with my new 2500K that I bought last week at MicroCenter. I am switching over from AMD and today was my day to build my new rig and I was so excited to get everything up and running.  I am now having a major problem and I have no idea what's wrong.  I have built PC's since 2005 and I am not a novice and I am always very careful when putting together a new rig.  Here's my problem; the board will not post. Whenever I plug in my power supply to boot the PC for the first time, all that happens is that the Power Button will continuously flash, and that's all that happens.  The CPU fan doesn't spin up, there are no beeps from the speaker and no error codes.  Nothing happens and I have tried manually pressing the Power Button, Reset Button, Back-To-BIOS Button, etc. I have reseated my CPU, reseated my RAM and reseated my video card.   I have taken the motherboard out of my case and put it on a non-conducive surface, taken out the CMOS battery for 30 minutes along with unplugging all power cables from the board.  I put it all back together with only the CPU, Heatsink and both power cables connected and nothing else connected.  I was hoping to hear 3 beeps when I turned it back on...well that didn't happen.  The Power Button just keeps flashing at me in an evil way! LOL.  

I only have one PC so after I couldn't figure out what the heck was wrong with my new mobo,  I put back together my AMD 1090T rig.  It's all back in the case I was using for the Intel build.  Everything is working great so I know it can't be a power supply issue.  Does anyone have any ideas what the problem could be?

Here are my components:

Intel DP67BG

XFX GTS250

WD VelociRaptor 300GB

Corsair HX620

Cooler Master Hyper 212+

Patriot Viper II 4GB (2x2GB)1600MHz 8-8-8-24 @1.65V