Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14504 Discussions

Sandy Bridge Turbo 2.0 technical questions

RFish1
Beginner

I'm a system builder looking for information on Turbo 2.0 on the Sandy Bridge platform. I understand that new methods of implementing Turbo are upon us which can use the shock load of the heatsink along with rapid polling. My question is regarding how Turbo adapts to different amounts of thermal dissipation available to the processor by using aftermarket heatsinks.

If I build a system with a much larger heatsink would Turbo take advantage of this and stay clocked higher for longer as it has more thermal dissipation available to it? Would Turbo allow the processor to stay above TDP for longer as the heatsink will have a greater thermal capacitance?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
RGiff
Honored Contributor I

Don't build a SYS with a much larger heatsink. Go H2O , Cousair has Two units that work fine on 130 watt CPUs , Model H-50 and model H-70 , I have both very dependable , Keeps my QX9650 which stays clocked at 3.8 , right at 40C, all day and all night.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee

I most likely won't be overclocking as I cannot find a ITX board avilable. I'm stuck with something like a Scythe Shuriken for my builds as nothing else will work other than stock. My question regards the stock Turbo 2.0 operation only but I thank you for your responce.

0 Kudos
DSilv11
Valued Contributor III

A generic answer OK?