Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14615 Discussions

H55 MotherBoard i5-650 64Bit 4GB < 4GB

idata
Employee

Good Evening, And Hello.

I'm Paul, I have an issue with the system build I have just completed [well hopefully completed !!]

I'm sure this may have been raised before so I appologise for that in advance.

My System config is

O/S : Win 7 64 Bit

Memory : Corsair CMX4GX3M2A1600C9

MoBo : Gigabyte GA-H55M-UD2H

CPU : Intel Core i5 650

Having built and installed the operating system, when entering control panel and looking at the system it states that 4GB RAM installed but something like 3.74GB RAM usable. I was just wondering why there is some 0.26GB of RAM not available. I thought It may be to do the the iGPU but It appears this persists even when a dedicated GPU is installed

Any Information would be most helpful. I'm no a mission to attempt to bottom this one out

Regards

Paul

0 Kudos
11 Replies
idata
Employee

Hello and happy New Year.

I'm not an expert but I wanted to I wanted to tell you that it happens exactly the same to me. I have 4Gbs of RAM but it appears 2.99 GB usable.

Why? I'm not pretty sure, maybe the rest is taken by the grafic or something.

I would like an answer too =)

Greetings!

0 Kudos
idata
Employee

Hi....2.99GB usable results in a lot of RAM allocated for iGPU. My figures are more like 0.26GB. Searching around it appears to be a "feature" of the chip set, but there is no real explanation as to why the system does not dynamically allocate RAM. More like a bug within the design of the chipset I suspect. Without reworking it cannot be fixed. It would be interesting to see how the RAM allocation varies if a graphically intensive application were running. I may contact intel direct to determine their view on this anomaly....Regards Paul

0 Kudos
RGiff
Honored Contributor I

This why you don't see all of your memory look at attached file OK.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee