Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14509 Discussions

QX6850 - Which cores are real and which are HT?

idata
Employee

I have a QX6850 and can not find any literature about the core layout.

I am not an expert, but was just curious as to which ones; 0 1 2 3 cores are real and which ones are the ht core?

0 Kudos
8 Replies
idata
Employee

0 + 2 = real

1 + 3 = hyper threaded?

0 + 1 = real

2 + 3 = ht?

any help would be awesome

DSilv11
Valued Contributor III

The HT are the odd number on the Xeon processors so I assume the same here.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee

What monitoring program is providing you with the numbers 0 - 3? Or where are you getting these numbers from?

Your question is a good one, since the numbering of the cores in an utility program is apparently arbitrary, whatever the programmer chooses. But, it would be nice if which cores are real and which are the hyper-threading virtual cores were identified by the softwares documentation, or in it's UI.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee

going by bios and RealTemp

I have an evga 680i.

The BIOS refers to them as 0 1 2 3 for controlling.

Real Temp shows 0 and 1 cores as a higher temp on average then 2 and 3 as slightly lower, which is making me think that 0 and 1 are the real cores, but nothing confirmed.

on average:

0 and 1 running are 52c

2 and 3 running are 49c

both sets are matched during influx. i.e. running a full screen game, cores 0 and 1 temps raise together and 2 and 3 raise together but a little cooler.

idata
Employee

Whoa, I just noticed something here...

Given that you have a QX6850, then you have four real cores, and four core threads, for a total of eight. Check the specs here:

http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=30789&processor=QX6850&spec-codes=SLAFN http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=30789&processor=QX6850&spec-codes=SLAFN