Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14368 Discussions

i5 760 overheating error

idata
Employee

Hello,

I just bought an i5 760 CPU and an ASUS motherboard. I used the stock fan and heatsink. The first time I test booted (no monitor), I got one beep as if everything was OK. I turned it off and put a monitor on, and the next boot gave a message that the CPU was overheating. I turned it off and checked the heatsink and fan. I turned it on again and got the message again. I couldn't find anything wrong, so I pressed F1 to bypass the message and started to install Windows before thinking better of it and checking the temperature in the BIOS. The temperature was alternating between 98 and 98.5 C, so I turned it off and reseated the heatsink. This time the temperature was in mid 20s. This is my first build in 6 years, so even though it seems to be working great, could this cause any lasting damage?

Thanks!

9 Replies
idata
Employee

If it was actually at 98 and not just a misreport and you used it constantly then possibly. But you dont mentioned the system shutting down by itself, which it will do if the CPU gets too hot, to protect itself, and now you say it's at 20 so teh chances are eitehr heatsin not on properly or a misreport of some sort so nothing to worry about.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee

The first time I got the message, I think it was on for about 30 seconds. The second time (after I pressed F1 to bypass it), it was on for up to 5 minutes.

I have been using it over the weekend and haven't had any problems (I tried some computer games and video editing). I like it a lot (came from AMD64 3500). What is the best method to stress test it so that I can be sure that there are no issues? I downloaded Prime95, but wasn't sure which test and how long it should run.