Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14539 Discussions

E8400 and P4 power connector instead of 8pin.

idata
Employee

Hey I'm using an E8400 core 2 duo wolfdale 3.0GHz in conjunction with a EP45 UD3P Gigabyte Motherboard that has an 8pin connection to power the CPU but my PSU only has a P4 4pin connector so I've been using that. So far running the 4pin power connector in the 8pin power connector has been perfectly fine, I'm wonder however if down the road I might experience stability issues because of this or even worse possible hardware damage.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

7 Replies
idata
Employee

I've never done that before but my first concern would be if only providing half of the power necessary via that single connector, is that one connector having to handle twice the electrical current? Not an expert on this but much more current will eventually cause the plastic connector to heat-up a LOT, possibly melt it, and then possibly the electrical pins in the connector could touch (and short-out). Ouch.

The better thing to do would be to scavenge another 4-pin plastic connector from a different PSU, even a retired one, and splice the correct voltage and ground wires into it. Then, plug it in. I've done this before when I needed another power connector but one wasn't available via the PSU's cabling. Just make certain that you get the wiring (voltages) correct. That is usually easy because they are color coded but a simple multimeter can verify that task. Measure the voltages from your existing 4-pin connector, make another connector, measure those voltages, and off you go. Disconnect all other connectors first and jumper the main 24-pin connector with a paperclip from its green wire to any ground as that will fire-up the PSU while not connected to the system. That should enable you to measure voltages.

Good luck.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee