Standard Intel CPU Fan

1 Side Mounted Flowing onto MOBO 80mm Fan

1 Power Supply Fan

The hardware monitor hangs around the following:

Platform Controller Hub: 59C

Voltage Regulator: 50C

memory DIMM: 26C

Processor 26C

However after a few minutes of Starcraft II (Runs downright great!!!), the Voltage Regulator Temperature Alarm Sounds. I have felt around the motherboard and nothing feels even remotely hot. I have seen several discussions on this being a bugus reading but I am concerned. Before I spend another $100 on beefier fans and more heatsinks which I don't think I need, does anyone have experience with this problem on this board or has anyone talked to Intel?

Also, any idea where on the MOBO, the temp sensor IC's are? I can always try some freeze spray from work and test them. I am an Electrical Engineer and design CPU boards for embedded devices so this should be solveable.

Thanks for any help, Gary

• 1. Re: DH57DD Voltage Regulator Temperature exceeding 60C
          gsinde

Flashed new Bios (JGIBX 10J.86A.0537.2010.0518.0132) and it didn't appear to effect the temperature readings. One other thing to note: I changed the limits for the Voltage Regulator Threshld Alarm from 60C to 75C just to see what happens and the limit doesn't appear to be remembered during a reboot???

I will keep playing around with this and update this thread as I learn and try things, Thanks for anyones help that chimes in.

Note: 25C is about room temp. So, this is saying that my processor and memory are around room temp but my Platform Controller and Voltage Regulator are over 120F. I should be able to feel 60C with my finger. This should be hot to the touch.

Gary

• 2. Re: DH57DD Voltage Regulator Temperature exceeding 60C
            gsinde