4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2010 5:37 AM by troeger

48 Computers or 48 Cores?

nipun.sehrawat

Hi,

I am new to SCC and am going through its documentation. One thing I am not clear about is that is SCC:

48 computers (each running a separate instance of Linux) running on a single chip?

OR

48 cores collaborating under a single Linux instance?

According to the documentation, it seems that (1) is the case.

If (1) is indeed the case, do we have to exploit parallelism by running diff. instances of a process, running on diff cores (and a diff O.S.) and making these instances communicate using RCCE?

Thanks,

Nipun

• 1. Re: 48 Computers or 48 Cores?
          tgmattso

SCC is a chip with 48 P54c cores connected by a 2D mesh on-die interconnect.   On top of this chip, you can implement a variety of OS solutions.

The typical solution used with SCC is for each core to run an instance of Linux.  You can use the RCCE library to write message passing programs that run on SCC.  There are groups, however, looking into mapping other OS solutioins onto SCC.   So there is nothing in the chip that requires Linux.

And as much as I like RCCE, there are groups porting their own APIs to SCC.  You don't have to use RCCE.  For many people, RCCE is  a place to get started. You can study how we solved the message passing problem with RCCE and then use it as an example as y

• 2. Re: 48 Computers or 48 Cores?
            nipun.sehrawat

Thanks for explaining that Tim!

So, on SCC is it possible to boot a single Linux kernel, shared by a set of cores? (If we somehow manage cache coherency in s/w and keeping the kernel image in DRAM shared by these cores). I know there'll be huge overheads involved and that we all hate shared memory in case of manycores.

Thanks,

Nipun

• 3. Re: 48 Computers or 48 Cores?
              tgmattso