8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2010 4:01 PM by Ultra

Intel Storage Raid Controller Questions

Ultra

Hi everybody,

I recently purcahsed a Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 motherboard which has an onboard Intel Raid Storage Controller.

Controller info:

The device manager lists it as "Intel(R) ICH8R / ICH9R / ICH10R / DO / 5 Series / 3400 Series SATA RAID Controller".

It has 6 SATA ports and supports up to 3GB/s.

The device works fine, RAIDS are setup through a DOS interface that can be accessed at bootup pressing Ctrl + I. There's also Intel Rapid Storage Technology software which I installed and gives you basic overview over the RAID(s) in Windows.

I am running Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

Since this is my first time dealing with the Intel RAID controller, I have a few questions:

(1.) I currently have a Raid 1 setup on 2 of the 6 controller. I want to expand this to a RAID 10 (using all 6 ports) without losing my data that I have in the Raid 1. Is that possible ?

--> I did not see an option to do that in the DOS config menu...

(2.) If (for whatever reason) the motherboard ever fails and I have to unplug the 6 RAID 10 HD and would connect them to a different motherboard / Sata controller, would I be able to read the data on the disks ?

Or are the disks (once configured as a RAID) only accessible through this specific Intel RAID controller ?

Thanx for your help in advance !

- M

• 1. Re: Intel Storage Raid Controller Questions
          john_s@intel

Ultra,

Although Intel makes the chipset, it gets modified for Gigabyte; some features get added, others removed. If you need one-on-one technical support for your specific issue, you would have to call Gigabyte.

I don't what storage manager you're using, but the ctrl + I is also used for Intel® Matrix Storage Technology. Here's some information on the Intel® Matrix Storage Technology:

http://www.intel.com/design/chipsets/matrixstorage_sb.htm

Regards,
          John

1 of 1 people found this helpful