2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 17, 2011 12:23 AM by steve1916

Default RAM latency for DH55HC and DH55TC - how to find?

steve1916

I've searched the BIOS, Google, and this communtiy without success, but I may have missed something obvious, so here's my two questions:

1.  I have no experience with overclocking, but would like to know how to find the default ram latency for DH55TC and DH55HC so I can buy RAM that works with these two boards WITHOUT PAYING TOO MUCH.  OK, I just hate to waste money, so I think this is a must know issue to find the best deal at Fry's or Newegg.  This must be a slam dunk for the experts in this community.

2.  In the event that I do have a desire or need to overclock, what is the best source of information on how to go about this (mostly for intel boards)?  I would appreciate any details you want to elaborate on, or just a URL to a great website would suffice.

I'm still mystified why Intel does not provide information on default memory timinings.  Is it because the cheapest stuff on the marked meets the default requirements?  I also have no problem with buying overspec'ed RAM if the PRICE IS LOWER!

Thanks for any help you can provide.

steve 1916

Answer:

I got the following from Intel support (bottom line, the processor determines CAS latency).  I'm assuming the same may apply for the DH55HC and will check it's processor spec next: