3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2014 5:37 PM by oops

DP55WB MB with Windows 2008 Server

dana803

I know that Windows 2008 Server is not listed as a supported OS for the DP55WB motherboard. The list seems to list OS' such as Windows XP, Vista and 7.   But, I didn't know OS mattered to a motherboard until I ordered this board after carefully selecting which CPU I wanted, and started to research parts and peripherals so I can build it.  I've worked with replacing ram, drives, etc, before, but never built a computer from scratch. I do know that there are compatibility issues with things to plug into the board, etc.  I had no idea until now that OS mattered.  My goal with this desktop is to build something that I can use as a learning tool as I am a student of Microsoft certs.  I want to install Windows Server 2008, SQL Server 2008, Visual Studio, etc, all to be used by little old me who just wants some "hands on" to go with my learning courses.  In the past, I took an old personal desktop running Windows 95 or 98 and installed Windows Server 2000 on it without a problem.  So, I didn't think OS mattered.  What I'm asking here is whether Windows Server 2008 will even install or work if I try to install it on this machine using this motherboard?  Or, do I need to return my order and order something else? Is it just that certain features won't work, etc, or are there certain drivers I won't be able to live without, etc.?   I started this project when I looked at the system requirements for Visual Studio, and it says I need Windows Server 2008.  Since I have no desktop that meets today's specs anymore, I am now building this.  Thank you for any input, etc.

• 1. Re: DP55WB MB with Windows 2008 Server
          uptowncomputers@gmail.com