6 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2010 7:15 AM by Cpt.Dogfruit

Is VT supported in the DG45ID BIOS ?

Bumper

I am a student and I would like to extend my knowledge of computing by using virtual machines and specifically the MS Hyper-V technology supported in MS2008.  I have bought an Advent PC (QC8003), which contains the Intel DG45ID motherboard.  The current BIOS installed is version: IDG4511H.86A.0104.2009.0120.2130.  I want to be able to try the Intel specific virtualisation Technology or VT as it appears be known.  I have checked on the intel site and according to this link:

http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/sb/CS-030922.htm

The DG45ID motherboard should support the native VT option.  The motherboard is specifically listed in the table of supported chipsets and motherboards.

Contradictorily, according to the following link it does not support VT:

http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=34684

With futher hunting on the internet I believe one should see the Intel@VT option in the BIOS if it is supported, as it is demonstrated in this picture link:

http://www.imboard.co.kr/data/board/2009/11/12/cmos(0).jpg

I have found questions on various forums suggesting that the DG45ID board does support VT in the BIOS such as:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en/w7itprovirt/thread/f683c299-a574-48d5-8004-36c831af99ef

But I would like to confirm this properly, if that is possible, as I do not see the option in my current BIOS menu.  My system currently has a Q8200 processor which I am aware will not support VT.  If all is well I will purchase a Q8400, assuning It will work with the BIOS.

Consequently, I have several questions and I would be grateful if anyone can answer them as specifically as possile:

1)      Does the DG45ID motherboard support VT?

2)      If so, should the VT option always be visible in the BIOS irrespective of the installed processor?