10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2018 3:04 AM by CamL

How to get audio to go through HDMI for Skyrim SE

CamL

Hi,

My name is Cameron. I have been playing Skyrim Special Edition for a couple of years now and a reoccurring issue I've had is when I plug a monitor into my laptop via HDMI, the video will play, put there won't be any audio. I have found a temporary work around by setting my laptop speakers as the default audio device and have the audio play through my laptop (this also works with speakers connected connected via aux or bluetooth if set to the default audio device). This however is very inconvenient. I had put off finding a solution to this problem as I was previously using a laptop that I was planning to upgrade from, but the problem consists with my new laptop as well. The problem occurs whether I install mods to the game or not. When doing some research, many were saying this was a intel/windows 10 issue. Please help.

Attached is a scan of my current laptops specs.

• 1. Re: How to get audio to go through HDMI for Skyrim SE
          Intel Corporation
          This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation

Hello CamL,

I understand that you are currently experiencing problems with the audio through HDMI connection.

Regarding this, to better assist you with your request, I will need to check some information about your computer. Please follow these steps: 

1. In the keyboard, press WinLogo key + R. 
          2. In the Run box please type dxdiag and hit Enter.
          3. Click on Save All Information (save it in your desktop). 
          4. Attach the report to this thread. 

Also, I would like to know if you have tried different monitors or perhaps a TV, this is important to know if it is a problem caused by the display or the unit itself. You also mentioned that you have installed mods and also without mods the issue appears, correct? 

I hope to hear from you.

Regards,
          David V