1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2018 7:21 PM by cvare

NUC (nuc6cays) help updating HDMI firmware

pmole

Hi I've been using Win10 with the Nuc (nuc6cays) for a couple years now but like others I'm having trouble getting my new Samsung HDTV (49" QN49Q6F) to recognize it through the HDMI port.  I have searched through the forums and gotten some help and tried a few things, but I'm having trouble with upgrading my NUC.  I've successfully flashed the bios with AYAPLCEL.86A.0049.EB but I'm confused about the HDMI firmware upgrade "NUC6CAY-NUC7ixBN-HDMI-Update-1.72".  I found this reference in an old post as a possible fix to the HDMI problem, but I'm a little confused on how to work the "Bobcat Aux ISP Tool" software.   It seems I'm using this program to run the files found in the "bin" folder, but no matter what file I run, it fails.   First all, is this firmware update still relevant?  When it comes to flashing bios and firmware/driver updates I'm of the mindset that if it ain't broke don't fix it.  If anyone can advise me on which updates to apply to fix this problem please let me know.   I was able to find a tutorial on how to install the HDMI firmware, but it said nothing about how to use Bobcat and I don' know what "FW" refers to.   The other possible problem is that the tutorial says I must be hooked up to an HDMI 2.0 compliant device which is impossible in terms of the Samsung as hooking up is the problem.  I did run bobcat while hooked up to a different HDMI monitor, but I was unable to be certain if this was HDMI compliant.