9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2018 9:43 AM by Al Hill

Increase RAM

Frink

Hi,

I'm looking to increase the RAM and Graphics capabilities on my system to the maximum.

I've done a lot of checking and research but it's one of those things that I'm not 100% sure about so would appreciate a bit of confirmation if anyone can help

My system:

Motherboard:

Intel Corporation DQ45CB (LGA775)

CPU:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 @ 2.66GHz

Graphics:

Generic Non-PnP Monitor (1280x1024@60Hz)

2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GT 710 (Gigabyte)

This motherboard has 4 RAM slots (DDR2) which are currently filled with 2GB Modules, so I'm working with 8GB RAM total.

I've read the specs on the Intel site and it seems that I could increase to 16GB by replacing the modules with 4 x 4GB

As I'm no expert on RAM, could someone confirm if this is suitable:

https://www.mrmemory.co.uk/memory-ram-products/4gb-ddr2-pc2-6400-800mhz-240-pin-dimm

Bit expensive if I have to buy 4, I know - hence why I need to check...

Regarding the Graphics card, the one I have contains 2GB but I want to increase.

I can see that there are way better cards available but I'm struggling to know which would be compatible with my setup.

If anyone could offer advice and ideas I'd be very grateful!

Many thanks,

Frink.

• 1. Re: Increase RAM
          Al Hill

You can find the specifications for ram for your board here, on page 15, section 1.5:

https://www.intel.com/content/dam/support/us/en/documents/boardsandkits/desktop-boards/P45_G45_Q45/DQ45CB/DQ45CB_TechPro…

I see only a few 4gb modules that have been tested:

System Memory for the Intel® Desktop Board DQ45CB