6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2018 3:33 PM by acedelmar

Micro SD Card fails to be recognized

acedelmar

Hi!  I'm a total newb, so if there's anything unclear, please let me know.

I bought an Insignia tablet from Best Buy for my wife.  Insignia - 11.6" - Tablet - 32GB - With Keyboard - Black   I recently had to reload it with Windows 10 32-Bit.  Everything now works except the SD Card Reader.

If I put in an 8 GB or small Micro SD Card, it finds it.  Anything above 8 GB, it can't find.  I loaded Xubuntu on a LiveUSB and booted it and Xubuntu can see the reader, see any card including a 128 GB card that I had in another device, interact with it, load files, copy files, etc.  Based on that, it's NOT the actual hardware, it has to be a software/driver issue.  So, I did some research in the Device Manager:

SD Host Adapters

Intel SD Host Controller (3)

Driver Version 10.0.17134.1 dated 6/21/2006 by Microsoft

Hardware IDs of ACPI\VEN_8086&DEV_0F14&REV_0001 or *80860F14

Storage Controllers

1.  Microsoft Storage Spaces Controller

Driver Version 10.0.17134.1 dated 6/21/2006 by Microsoft

Hardware ID of Root\Spaceport

2.  SD Storage Class Controller (Built-In SD Card for OS)

Hardware ID of SD\VID_45&OID_0000&PID_DF4032&REV_0.1

3.  SD Storage Class Controller (External 32 GB SD Card)

Hardware ID of SD\VID_03&OID_5344&PID_SU32G&REV_8.0

I looked at the SD Storage Class Controllers and they have Driver Version 10.0.17134.1 dated 6/21/2006 by Microsoft.  To test my theory of a driver error, I found Driver Version 6.3.9600.16384 dated 6/21/2006 by Microsoft and installed it and the reader now finds ANY Micro SD card I insert.  It just can't use them...  They show up in the hardware list, the computer attempts to format them, but nothing.  Now, I'm not sure what to do.

I did run the Intel Driver and Support Assistant, but no luck.  I also installed Driver Easy and ran all of the updates that it found.  Still nothing...