Items with no label
3335 Discussions

Simple Path to get a working C++ program for depth data from D435 camera

JBirk
Beginner

My D435 camera is still scheduled to arrive, despite it being over two months since it was ordered. I would like to make some progress in getting C++ code to access depth data. I have tried to get various GitHub code samples to work without success. For example, I started with rs-capture.cpp, then I needed example.hpp, then I needed stb_easy_font.h and still have lots of errors in Eclipse.

Please recommend the simplest path to copying a complete working program that should collect a depth sample. I am hoping there is such a solution, that doesn't have a seemingly endless stream of additional tidbits of needed knowledge. I am relatively new to C++, Linux, Eclipse, and Real Sense cameras.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

The most recent official delivery estimate for the D435 that I saw back on March 21 was '9 to 10 weeks'. If you have been waiting two months then your order is probably getting closer to being fulfilled as the shippings are done in the order that they were received. People definitely are receiving their D435 cameras, as evidenced by their postings about them on this forum. Your patience is very much appreciated.

There does not seem to be a step by step guide to setting up a development environment from start to end, unfortunately. This may be due to the numerous different ways and languages that development can be approached from.

Could you tell me what camera you are using for your tests please if your D435 has not yet arrived. RealSense cameras contain special depth and infrared sensors, so an ordinary webcam camera would not be able to run most of the sample programs.

If you do not yet have a RealSense D415 or D435 camera to test with, the page linked to below provides some pre-recorded data that you can drop into the RealSense Viewer program to look at it.