6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2018 9:24 AM by lapinporo

NUC7i5BNH freezing totally during high load when HT enabled

lapinporo

Hi all,

I have been using NUC7i5BNH for about 6 months now, but only recently noticed that the system is prone to freeze during high CPU load. I first noticed this when antivirus system scans always resulted in a total freeze. Now I get the same issue when creating preview images in Adode Lightroom 6.

When the system freezes, it becomes totally unresponsive. Mouse cursor is stuck and no response to keyboards actions. Nothing happens on the screen either.

Also the fan speed stays high, which may suggest that this is a low level problem. Windows event log contains only "kernel power" events indicating that the computer was rebooted without first powering it off in the normal way.

I have done the following:

- memtest, no issues found

- ran intel processor diagnostic tool, PASSED

- re-installed Windows on new SSD, still freezing

- disconnected all USB devices except mouse and keyboard, still freezing

My setup:

- NUC7i5BNH

- 2 x 4GB 2133MHZ DDR4 Kingston HyperX Impact

- Samsung 960 EVO 250GB SSD (previously rather old OCZ 128 GB SATA SSD, same issue)

- Windows 10 pro (1709)

- network via ethernet

- 4K LG display via HDMI

- latest BIOS (0060) and latest drivers from Intel Driver & Support Assistant

Any ideas? What should I try / do next?

BR,

Anssi

• 1. Re: NUC7i5BNH freezing totally during high load
          N.Scott.Pearson

Run an app that will collect temperature data over time. It would be interesting to see what the temperatures are at the point where the NUC hangs.

...S

• 2. Re: NUC7i5BNH freezing totally during high load
            lapinporo

Thanks for the hint!

I ran two tests:

- 100% CPU load (Prime95) for 30 minutes, no freezing, core temperatures around 83-84C

- 100% CPU load (Prime95) + ~70% GPU load (OCCT) for 30 minutes, no freezing, core temperatures around 83-84C