9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 4, 2018 9:36 AM by DrSwift

Intel NUC5i7RYH Overheating Issues

neltnerb

I've had longstanding issues with my NUC5i7RYH overheating severely. I tried setting the cooling to "cool" in the bios and also turned off turbo boost entirely, and there's no dust inside that I can see.

Does anyone have a solution for this that can keep this system stable? I've been fighting with this issue for two years and would love to find a real solution even if it's buying some external magical cooler to make this work properly.

• 1. Re: Intel NUC5i7RYH Overheating Issues
          N.Scott.Pearson

I have never been happy with the presets that they offer. Here is what I am using:

Try this and let me know if it alleviates the issues you are seeing...

...S

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Intel NUC5i7RYH Overheating Issues
            neltnerb

Thanks, I'll give that a try once I can get the bios visible again! Very helpful, much appreciated.

Do you have a spinning disk? I'm suspicious that maybe the combination of the higher power processor plus the hard disk could be making mine hotter than most.

• 3. Re: Intel NUC5i7RYH Overheating Issues
              N.Scott.Pearson

In the BIOS, I also set it for Balanced Performance, rather than, MAX Performance, but I don't touch anything else. Remember to make the corresponding change in Windows. That is, in the Power Options applet, choose Balanced Performance profile instead of High Performance profile.

...S

• 4. Re: Intel NUC5i7RYH Overheating Issues
                N.Scott.Pearson

I have a 240GB BP5e M.2 SATA SSD and a 2TB Seagate SATA SSHD (which is HDD with built-in SSD cache). I also have 8GB of DDR3-1600 memory installed).

...S

• 5. Re: Intel NUC5i7RYH Overheating Issues
                  N.Scott.Pearson

I would point out that SSDs typically run a lot hotter than HDDs...

• 6. Re: Intel NUC5i7RYH Overheating Issues
                    neltnerb