14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2011 6:14 AM by tibin

Intel DX58SO and XMP(Kingston ram)

murinus

Greetings to everyone, new here!

I recently got myself a new pc and i'm having some problems at the moment and i hope that someone can help me out.

So, i'll start by saying that i'm no PC expert the problem i am having is that i can't get my RAM to run @ 1600MHz(XMP)
      My ram is: Kingston KHX1600C9D3K3/6GX, i'm certain that it CAN support XMP but i just can't see it in my BIOS.. under Performance memory profiles.. i just see Auto and manual.. not  XMP Profile 1 or XMP Profile 2.

I tried setting it up manually by changing the following: mem multiplier to x12, timings to 9 9 9 27 and voltage @ 1.66 but after doing so my pc would not start up, only saw a black screen.. did countless hard resets but nothing, in the end i had to remove the cmos battery for 1 min, put it back in and reboot(all this was rather painful).

Now i've set up everything on automatic and my PC boots up fine, just what the heck is going on with the DX58SO? Is there any way to make my ram run with XMP?Should mention that another thing that bothered me, is that after returning to optimal default settings some settings regarding my CPU also changed(got an intel i7 920)like bus speed was 133 now it's 135..

Anyway, first things first.. i'm really confused here!

EDIT: Forgot to mention that my bios is updated to SOX5810J.86A.5020(released on 2/24/2010) i also saw some other drivers for my mobo but i assume they have nothing to do with bios and the RAM issue.

• 1. Re: Intel DX58SO and XMP(Kingston ram)
          Kakusso

while the box says that it supports 1600MHz, the product guide says the following:

"The Desktop Board supports the following memory features:

• Four 240-pin Double Data Rate 3 (DDR3) SDRAM Dual Inline Memory Module

(DIMM) connectors with gold-plated contacts arranged in three channels

• 1333/1066/800 MHz DDR3 SDRAM interface"

• 2. Re: Intel DX58SO and XMP(Kingston ram)