9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2017 12:48 PM by N.Scott.Pearson

D975XBX2 Ram support

Ayle1257

Hi there. i have D975XBX2 motherboard and intel sore 2 duo cpu in it. i have 2 sticks of 2 gb each right now and i wanna make it 8 gb . so if i install even one ram of any memory( 1gb, 2gb, 512mb) it doesnt take any and wont show display at all. all the slots are perfectly working on only two sticks. plz help.

• 1. Re: D975XBX2 Ram support
          N.Scott.Pearson

The board can only support 4 ranks of memory. If your existing DIMMS have 2 ranks or the new DIMMs have two ranks, then you will exceed this limit and the combination will not work. Similarly, the board can only support DIMMs with x8 organization. New DIMMs with x16 organization cannot be used.

Please provide full part numbers for the DIMMs you started with and the new DIMMs you tried to add.

...S

• 2. Re: D975XBX2 Ram support
            Ayle1257

hi there thanx for replying. i am a noob and dont know alot about rams. but ive taken some photos and i guess u should provide me whats best for me to reach to 8 gb ram on this board plz.https://i.imgur.com/fYAywJH.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/s8XKkDR.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/qkiWypH.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/vBnqDDT.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/oggX8TF.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/LupnNnD.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/KI9O6ms.jpg

• 3. Re: D975XBX2 Ram support
              N.Scott.Pearson

In future, please attach pictures to your responses here. We can no longer access external sites using links like this.

Both of the DIMMs that you have shown are Dual Rank. You will only be able to use two of these at any one time.

Sorry,

...S

• 4. Re: D975XBX2 Ram support
                N.Scott.Pearson

Let me say slightly more. As a general rule of thumb, if a DDR2 DIMM has chips on both sides of the DIMM, it is likely a dual rank DIMM. What you need to get are four 2GB DDR2 DIMMs that have chips on only one side of each DIMM.