Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4810 Discussions

I210 External Flash Programming with a Tegra X2

LDean
Novice

I'm making a carrier card for a Tegra X2 computer on module (running Linux 4.4.38-tegra aarch64) and using the Intel I210 to get a second Ethernet port. I've verified that the I210 works with the Tegra using an external Flash chip programmed before putting it on the board with an image copied from an I210 adapter card Flash. To make it easier to manufacture I'd like to program the Flash in-circuit. I've seen the BootUtil and EEUPDATE used to program the Flash and have downloaded both. Is one of these better for an application like this?

I'm new to Linux and relying on Google to fill in the blanks, so I've used "sudo -i" to get into root where the EEUPDATE guide says to and followed the reset of the install for Linus directions as I could, it says its successful but doesn't seem to be working.

root@lamont-tx2|~> cd Temporary/

root@lamont-tx2|Temporary> ls

install iqvlinux.tar.gz

root@lamont-tx2|Temporary> chmod 777 install

root@lamont-tx2|Temporary> ls

install iqvlinux.tar.gz

root@lamont-tx2|Temporary> ./install

Extracting archive..OK!

Compiling the driver...OK!

Removing existing iqvlinux.ko driver...OK

Copying iqvlinux.ko driver file to /lib/modules directory...OK!

Driver installation verification...Installed!

root@lamont-tx2|~> exit

logout

nvidia@lamont-tx2|/> EEUPDATE

-bash: EEUPDATE: command not found

From reading the guide it sounds like the EEUPDATE without options should give me a list of devices. What am I not doing or is this a larger problem? The I210 shows up using the lspci as an un-programmed device.

nvidia@lamont-tx2|~> lspci

00:01.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation Device 10e5 (rev a1)

01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Device 1531 (rev 03)