5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2017 11:00 AM by NeoBeum

Q/A: Thunderbolt Device and Controller Compatibility between All Generations and USB Type C Interface and beyond

NeoBeum

Hello,

I've had several bad experiences with retail outlets not having sufficient knowledge with Thunderbolt or have them supplying the correct information to consumers, so I wanted to ask the people who created the technology, as I'm interested in going back to hardware development (I'm currently studying and have gone back and forth with hardware and software).

The First Generation Thunderbolt was almost exclusively found on Apple products, and as a non-Apple user, my knowledge is limited, other than - 'it was faster than USB and firewire'.

Reading the FAQ on the Thunderbolt site Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) | Thunderbolt Technology Community

From my understanding, on a TB3.0 Device, if the device's controller has not been modified by hardware vendors, it should be able to communicate with a TB1.0 Host - Out Mini-Display Connector to TB3.0/USB C port on Device(@ TB1.0 Bandwidth).

In a scenario for Docking Stations, should a Dock marked as TB3.0 be able to operate other interfaces, such as its additional USB3.1 ports and HDMI ports, if the Docking Station were connected to a host computer with only TB1.0? (With example limit of USB 3.0 Type A ports and the Mini Display TB1.0)

Obviously the data rates are capped by the lowest TB Generation, so only additional TB3.0 ports on the station will either be working as TB1.0 or not at all.

Is it also correct to assume, that the Docking Station, could effectively serve as an upgrade to the Host Computer, as the USB3.1 Device ports will be using the TB1.0 Bandwidth, thus giving the Host Computer USB3.1 capability via the dock, when it only had USB3.0 on board?

Or would that also be a limiting factor on the host, where TB1.0 never had the superset to include USB3.1, so the host can only operate devices attached at USB3.0 speeds?