7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 19, 2017 8:05 PM by WiGuy

Driver crash during HEVC playback w/DXVA2 (resume)

WiGuy

Hello,

Over in the Kodi forums, many users are reporting an ongoing problem with Intel Graphics drivers for the past 2 years when it comes to playing back HEVC(x265) content on intel graphics hardware in Windows 7 and 10.  This problem is widespread and affects many hardware platforms including the NUC, HD4600, HD5500, i7 6770HQ and likely most others.  This crash happens when attempting to resume a HEVC encoded video file using current drivers on a windows platform with Kodi v15,16,17 and should affect any media player which uses DirectX 11 and up.

One user reports that the issue is linked to the use of "open-gop" parameter used for encoding media files using HEVC (which is default for most encoders).

I'm an IT professional but not in software development, I'd like to help in any way I can but please have a look over at the forum thread linked below for further details.  This will likely affect most of your platforms as HEVC becomes more and more prevalent.  Other players which are unaffected typically use a much older version of Direct X.

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=289533

• 1. Re: Driver crash during HEVC playback (resume)
          WiGuy

Update - it seems that this is directly linked to the intel driver with DX11 + DXVA2.  Disabling DXVA2 and using DXVA rendering seems to avoid this crash.

• 2. Re: Driver crash during HEVC playback w/DXVA2 (resume)
            Ronald_Intel

Hello WiGuy,

Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. Can you please report this to us using the following template: Default level information for reporting Graphics issues  ?

I would like to highlight the importance of the "Steps to Replicate" part. If you could also provide us with link(s) to some video files that can be used for testing that would be great.

Once we have this information we will try to replicate the issue internally.